The Gluten Intolerance Group of North America website notes that
individuals following the gluten-free diet must carefully avoid
foods that contain gluten. These foods include wheat, rye,
barley, triticale, spelt, and kamut. You should also avoid foods
made from these ingredients, such as modified food starch.
Because you need to be vigilant about food additives, you might
believe that MSG must also be avoided.
However, the Gluten Intolerance
Group of North America lists MSG as a substance that is allowed
in a strict gluten-free diet. If you have a
particular sensitivity to MSG, do not consume it.
Below is a link to a very thorough list of items that are safe
to consume if you are Allergic to Gluten or are on a Gluten Free